Back to the news
Astuces Yest®

Visual ATDD – Model-Based Testing en Agile

03.08.23

The crux of habit

You’re probably familiar with this scenario: at the start of a new (school) year, we make resolutions. One resolution that has gained popularity, especially in the post-Covid era, is “exercise more.” However, as daily life takes over, we become occupied with various tasks, leaving little time for our resolutions. A year passes, and we realize that we should have focused more on physical activity. The resolution hasn’t been forgotten; it just hasn’t been implemented consistently.

The same applies to the good resolutions in Agile. In our specific context, the resolution is called “Shift Left.” We recognize the importance of addressing testing as early as possible. Why? First, it ensures that testing doesn’t fall short at the end. Second, when test design begins, it often reveals inconsistent, unclear, or missing requirements because someone is systematically and critically examining those requirements. Once identified, open issues can be clarified for the entire project team, increasing the likelihood of preventing defects from occurring.

Agile thanks to Shift-Left Testing

Gherkin BDD for User Stories

The most prominent form of “Shift Left” is Test-Driven Development (TDD), a concept that applies to software development and related unit tests. If we look at functional tests, we discover a slightly different approach called Acceptance Test Driven Development (ATDD). Its best-known representative is Behavior-Driven Development. Instead of further refining user stories with textual acceptance criteria, we write acceptance test scenarios right away. These are usually written in the semi-formal Gherkin syntax (GIVEN-WHEN-THEN), because this way they can be read in and automated.

Visual ATDD for Epics and Features

Gherkin scenarios are well suited for user stories, but less so for entire features or epics. This is where model-based testing comes in. Its core idea is to graphically represent the test flow, add necessary information regarding the test of each action, and then use a test case generator to create those test cases that are required for a particular coverage. The test case generator collects all stored information on the path through the workflow and compiles – depending on the tool – abstract or concrete test cases, test procedure specifications and/or test scripts for automation.

What distinguishes Visual ATDD from older MBT forms

The previous paragraph contains a very important piece of information that you should not overlook. The test sequences are modeled, not the system! In the past, MBT was often understood as the reuse of existing models from the product design phase. However, as the name suggests, Visual ATDD clearly places the test at the beginning of the development. As with BDD, the system is specified by the workflows, the information stored in the model and by the test scenarios generated from it. ATDD is also referred to as “Specification by Example”. (The other MBT approaches still exist. They are also “Visual”, but do not ATDD.)

Why is this important? Because we all suffer from a chronic lack of time. Even if this should not be the case, there are still the many small things mentioned at the beginning… Be it self-protection our inner laziness, we resist every task that seems even remotely overhead. Why should I create a model if I only need test cases in the end? Why waste any thought at all on a structured test design if we end up automating everything? Away with it…

In Visual ATDD the models replace a part of the system specification.

As with BDD, in Visual ATDD we describe the system using the examples provided by test specifications. This way, every team member knows what is expected or what will be waved through as acceptable in the end. Unlike in the case of reuse, in Visual ATDD there is only one model, that is the test model. This avoids redundancies and the difficulty of having to keep two models up to date in parallel.

Visual ATDD provides a Living Documentation

Since the tests are generated from the model, there is a high incentive to keep the model up-to-date. However, the temptation remains to simply maintain the tests manually once they have been generated. This is where tool support is essential. The visual test design tool Yest® from Smartesting is a true tester’s IDE. Numerous functions such as auto-completion, propagation of changes, impact analysis, advanced search functions and many more make the tedious work of test case maintenance easier for testers.

But back to Visual ATDD. The (thanks to Yest®) always up-to-date model represents a living documentation of the product. Newcomers to the project benefit from it just as much as old hands who want to look up something from three months ago.

We find most errors during modeling

The idea of test-driven development was that many problems are noticed before they are “burned into” the source code. But this only works if we really start early with our test design. Visual ATDD allows a top-down approach, starting with the general flow of actions. Details are added as soon as they become available. If necessary, the workflows are extended sprint by sprint by the 3 Amigos. The model thus grows iteratively and incrementally in a truly agile way of working.

Conclusion

From a technical point of view, Visual ATDD does not differ from “traditional” MBT. It is organizational aspects that make the difference. In order to work in a test-driven manner, the test must really be placed at the beginning. But this also means that, if necessary, the service providers are involved at an early stage. The advantages are obvious. Quality increases intrinsically due to the significantly improved communication made possible by the clear, graphical representation. Appropriate tool support from Yest® ensures that it is easier to update models than to revise existing tests. That’s how things come full circle!

Stay tuned!

Smoke Testing, Sanity Testing, and Regression Testing

📈 Quality with Smoke Testing, Sanity Testing & Regression Testing

Gravity Testing Smartesting

Smoke Testing, Sanity Testing, and Regression testing: the Trifecta Understanding the differences between Smoke, Sanity, and Regression Testing is crucial…

Usage-Centric Testing

Unlocking Quality Insights with Usage-Centric Testing

Gravity Testing Smartesting

Historically, software testing was confined to pre-production environments to validate the application against the written requirements. (also known as requirement-based…

Fine-Tuning LLMs For Testers: A Cost-Effective Alternative to GPT

Fine-Tuning LLMs For Testers: A Cost-Effective Alternative to GPT

AI Smartesting

The surge of Large Language Models (LLM) like GPT has undoubtedly revolutionized the way we approach natural language understanding and…

Retour aux actualités
Astuces Yest®

Visual ATDD – Model-Based Testing en Agile

28.06.23

La force de l’habitude

Vous connaissez probablement ce scénario : au début d’une nouvelle année (scolaire), nous prenons des résolutions. Une résolution qui a gagné en popularité, surtout dans l’ère post-Covid, est de « faire plus d’exercice ». Cependant, au fur et à mesure que la vie quotidienne prend le dessus, nous nous occupons de diverses tâches, laissant peu de temps pour nos résolutions. Une année passe et nous réalisons que nous aurions dû nous concentrer davantage sur notre activité physique. La résolution n’a pas été oubliée ; elle n’a simplement pas été mise en œuvre de manière cohérente.

Il en va de même pour les bonnes résolutions en Agile. Dans notre contexte spécifique, la résolution s’appelle « Shift Left ». Nous reconnaissons l’importance de traiter les tests le plus tôt possible. Et pourquoi donc ? Eh bien, premièrement, cela garantit que les tests ne manqueront pas à la fin. Deuxièmement, lorsque la conception des tests commence, elle révèle souvent des exigences incohérentes, peu claires ou manquantes parce que quelqu’un examine systématiquement et de manière critique ces exigences. Cela permet de clarifier les problèmes ouverts pour l’ensemble de l’équipe de projet, augmentant ainsi la probabilité de prévenir l’apparition de défauts.

Agile avec les tests “shift-left”

Gherkin BDD pour les users stories

La forme la plus répandue du « Shift-left testing » est le développement piloté par les tests, une approche appelée ATDD (Acceptance Test-Driven Development. Son représentant le plus connu est le BDD (Behavior-Driven Development). Au lieu d’affiner les histoires d’utilisateurs avec des tests d’acceptation textuels, nous écrivons immédiatement les scénarios de tests d’acceptation. Ceux-ci sont généralement écrits dans la syntaxe semi-formelle Gherkin (GIVEN-WHEN-THEN), car de cette manière, ils peuvent être lus et automatisés.

Visual ATDD pour les épopées et les fonctionnalités

Les scénarios Gherkin conviennent bien aux user stories, mais moins aux fonctionnalités ou aux épopées entières. C’est là que le model-based testing intervient. Son idée principale est de représenter graphiquement le flux de test, d’ajouter les informations nécessaires concernant le test de chaque action, puis d’utiliser un générateur de cas de test pour créer les cas de test requis pour une couverture particulière. Le générateur de cas de test collecte toutes les informations stockées sur le chemin à travers le flux de travail et compile – en fonction de l’outil – des cas de test abstraits ou concrets, des spécifications de procédure de test et/ou des scripts de test pour l’automatisation.

Qu’est-ce qui distingue Visual ATDD des anciennes formes de Model-Based Testing (MBT)

Le paragraphe précédent contient une information très importante que vous ne devriez pas négliger. Les séquences de test sont modélisées, pas le système ! Dans le passé, le MBT était souvent compris comme la réutilisation de modèles existants de la phase de conception du produit. Cependant, comme son nom l’indique, Visual ATDD place clairement le test au début du développement. Comme pour le BDD, le système est spécifié par les flux de travail, les informations stockées dans le modèle et par les scénarios de test générés à partir de celui-ci. ATDD est également appelé « Spécification par l’exemple ». (Les autres approches MBT existent toujours. Elles sont également « Visuelles », mais ne sont pas ATDD.)

Pourquoi est-ce important ? Parce que nous souffrons tous d’un manque de temps. Même si cela ne devrait pas être le cas, il y a toujours les nombreuses petites choses mentionnées au début… Que ce soit pour nous protéger ou par notre paresse intérieure, nous résistons à toute tâche qui semble être une étape supplémentaire. Pourquoi devrais-je créer un modèle si je n’ai besoin que de cas de test à la fin ? Pourquoi gaspiller une pensée sur une conception de test structurée si nous finissons par automatiser tout ?

Dans Visual ATDD , les modèles remplacent une partie de la spécification du système.

Comme avec BDD, dans Visual ATDD, nous décrivons le système en utilisant les exemples fournis par les spécifications de test. Ainsi, chaque membre de l’équipe sait ce qui est attendu ou ce qui sera considéré comme acceptable à la fin. Contrairement au cas de la réutilisation, dans Visual ATDD, il n’y a qu’un seul modèle, qui est le modèle de test. Cela évite les redondances et la difficulté de maintenir deux modèles à jour en parallèle.

Visual ATDD fournit une documentation vivante

Étant donné que les tests sont générés à partir du modèle, il y a une forte incitation à maintenir le modèle à jour. Cependant, la tentation de simplement maintenir manuellement les tests une fois qu’ils ont été générés reste toujours présente. C’est là que le support d’outils est essentiel. L’outil de conception de test visuel Yest® de Smartesting est un véritable IDE pour les testeurs. De nombreuses fonctions telles que l’auto-complétion, la propagation des modifications, l’analyse d’impact, les fonctions de recherche avancées et bien d’autres encore facilitent le travail fastidieux de maintenance des cas de test pour les testeurs.

Mais revenons à Visual ATDD. Le modèle (toujours à jour grâce à Yest®) représente une documentation vivante du produit. Les nouveaux arrivants sur le projet en bénéficient autant que les anciens qui veulent rechercher quelque chose datant de trois mois auparavant.

Nous trouvons la plupart des erreurs pendant la modélisation des parcours de test

L’idée du développement piloté par les tests était que de nombreux problèmes sont remarqués avant qu’ils ne soient « gravés » dans le code source. Mais cela ne fonctionne que si nous commençons vraiment tôt avec notre conception de test. Visual ATDD permet une approche descendante, en commençant par le flux général des actions. Les détails sont ajoutés dès qu’ils sont disponibles. Si nécessaire, les flux de travail sont étendus sprint par sprint par les 3 Amigos. Le modèle croît ainsi de manière itérative et incrémentale dans une véritable façon de travailler agile.

Pour conclure

D’un point de vue technique, Visual ATDD ne diffère pas du MBT « traditionnel ». Ce sont les aspects organisationnels qui font la différence. Pour travailler de manière pilotée par les tests, le test doit vraiment être placé au début. Cela signifie également que, si nécessaire, les prestataires de services sont impliqués dès le début. Les avantages sont évidents. : la qualité augmente intrinsèquement grâce à une communication nettement améliorée rendue possible par une représentation graphique claire. Grâce à l’outil Yest®, il est plus simple de mettre à jour les modèles que de revoir les tests existants, ce qui permet de boucler la boucle de manière fluide et efficace !

Restez à l'affut des nouveautés

Les outils les plus utilisés par les équipes QA

Actualité Testing Yest Yest®

Les activités QA et de test sont menées selon un processus. Ce processus peut être plus ou moins mature, plus…

Comment simplifier la collaboration à l’intérieur des équipes Agile ?

Yest Yest®

Simplifier la collaboration au sein des équipes produit est un élément essentiel pour garantir un enchaînement efficace des différentes activités…

N’ayez pas peur d’essayer Yest, la SMAC est là !

Actualité Yest®

La Smartesting Academy est une plateforme d’E-learning ayant pour objectifs de découvrir le produit Yest de Smartesting ainsi que d’apprendre…